Author Interview with Rachael Lippincott + Giveaway!

POSTED ON November 28, 2018 BY Austine IN Blog Tour, Giveaway, Interview

Hello and a happiest of Wednesdays, my bookish friends! Today is an exciting day because I get to share an exclusive interview with author Rachael Lippincott. Her book, Five Feet Apart, released just last week which means you can get out and grab it from your favorite book retailer!

You also might be able to win a copy here on NovelKnight (but you didn’t hear it from me) 😉

About Rachael Lippincott

Rachael Lippincott was born in Philadelphia and raised in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. She holds a BA in English writing from the University of Pittsburgh. She currently resides in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, splitting her time between writing and running a food truck with her partner.

Divider

All About Rachael


You wrote a book! That’s pretty awesome. Why don’t you tell us a bit about what inspired Five Feet Apart?

Five Feet Apart is truly the product of so many people’s hard work, motivated by the desire to raise awareness about Cystic Fibrosis.  From the screenplay by Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis, to Justin Baldoni’s work as a director, to Claire Wineland’s incredible contributions and spirit, to my writing of the book adaptation, all of it was done with that intention.

Five Feet Apart is truly the product of so many people’s hard work, motivated by the desire to raise awareness about Cystic Fibrosis.  From the screenplay by Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis, to Justin Baldoni’s work as a director, to Claire Wineland’s incredible contributions and spirit, to my writing of the book adaptation, all of it was done with that intention.


Introduce us to your main character!

Five Feet Apart is a dual POV book, splitting the time between Stella Grant and Will Newman, two teens with Cystic Fibrosis.

Stella is very type-A.  She makes to-do lists, she has a perfectly organized med cart, she follows the rules…At the start, she’s a person that really does not take risks.  She lives for her treatments, instead of doing her treatments so she can live.

Will on the other hand is the polar opposite.  He fights his regimen at the hospital, he’s at constant odds with his mom, whose main and only objective is keeping him alive, and he is always getting in trouble for blatantly ignoring the rules.  His only goal, really, is to make it to his 18th birthday and live his life the way he wants to.

Because of this, Will drives Stella absolutely crazy, which lends itself to some really interesting interactions and scenes as they both become more aware of the underlying attraction they share for one another.  What makes them different draws them together, helping Stella to see past her to-do lists, and helping Will to find the value in his treatments.


Lots of aspiring authors out there. Any advice for them?

Stick with it.  Honestly.  If writing is your passion, don’t stamp that fire out!  It’s there for a reason!  Give your writing the time it deserves.  You have a so many wonderful stories just waiting to be written, so go and WRITE THEM!

Also, don’t take the first draft too seriously.  I find a lot of writers struggle with actually getting the words on the paper and finishing that manuscript because they are hyper-focused on making the first go around perfect.  It isn’t supposed to be.  Give yourself the freedom to write without that voice in your head telling you to rip everything to shreds.  Wait for the second draft to do that 😉


I know asking someone’s all-time favorite book is a loaded question so what’s your current favorite read?

OKAY, okay…Um, definitely We Are Okay by Nina LaCour.  This book really hit home for me on so many different levels.

Plus, Nina is SO TALENTED at writing I literally had to stop at different points during the book to audibly exclaim “WHAT THE HECK! THAT IS SO GOOD!”  Her writing is able to say everything that needs to be said with this incredible, almost lyrical quality to it.  It’s just some really beautiful writing.


Alright, the ultimate question: why should we read your book?

Will and Stella’s story is a beautiful one, that truly encapsulates love in so many different ways. From longing to feel-good infatuation to absolute selflessness to sacrifice, Five Feet Apart will make you feel ALL the feels.

Divider

Fun Stuff!


Describe yourself in 3 words.

Competitive. Tall. Sleepy.


What is your Hogwarts house?

WHAT A QUESTION. I am obsessed with Harry Potter and literally went as Harry for Halloween about five years running as a child. Very cost-effective. Not very adventurous.

(Long exhale) I’m a Hufflepuff. I admit it. I took the Pottermore sorting hat quiz twice, with about a year in-between each, and I got the same results with the maximum amount of honesty. So, I AM A HUFFLEPUFF. I AM A PARTICULARLY GOOD FINDER.


Your characters are sent into the Hunger Games. Who wins?

Will would do something without thinking it through and probably die first.  Stella would be overly careful and accidentally end up dead because she was distracted while making a hunger games to-do list or something.

My knee-jerk, no doubt reaction would be Barb, but if I really think about it she’d get held up trying to save everyone else.

So, POE. He’d skateboard around and be able to make beautiful food out of wild forest mushrooms and berries, outliving everyone through proper nutrition and perseverance.


You just won America’s Got Talent. What’s your talent?

Freestyle rapping. Which is probably the most embarrassing thing I could ever admit, but, there it is.


Your theme song/personal anthem?

Cheerleader by Omi.


Favorite quote?

“You can be in pain and yet you can see beauty, and that’s what makes life so incredible.” – Claire Wineland

Divider

About the Book

Author Interview with Rachael Lippincott + Giveaway!
Five Feet Apart
by Rachael Lippincott
Published on November 20, 2018 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers


Format: Hardcover
Pages: 288
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Soon to be a major motion picture in March 2019!

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?


Buy It!
Book Depository Amazon Barnes & Noble Indiebound Wordery
NovelKnight receives a small commission for any purchases made through the links above.


Divider

Book Trailer

Did I mention this book is set to be a major motion picture in March 2019?! No?? Watch the trailer below!

Divider

Blog Tour Schedule

Don’t forget to stop by the rest of the blogs on the tour for reviews and exclusive content! Plus more chances to win a copy of Five Feet Apart!

November 12 – That Artsy Reader Girl
November 13 – Vivacious Bibliophile
November 14 – A Gingerly Review
November 15 – Life of a Simple Reader
November 16 – A Glass of Wine
November 17 – Book is Glee
November 19 – Bumbles and Fairytales
November 20 – Adventures of a Book Junkie
November 21 – Jen Ryland Reviews
November 22 – Joyous Reads
November 23 – Chasing Faerytales
November 24 – Folded Pages Distillery
November 26 – Oh, Hey! Books
November 27 – Book Briefs
November 28 – Novel Knight Book Reviews – you’re here!
November 29 – A Dream within a Dream
November 30 – My Guilty Obsession

Divider

Giveaway!

Simon Teen has graciously offered 1 hardcover copy of Five Feet Apart to one lucky winner!

Open to United States residents only, ends December 5, 2018

All blog giveaway policies apply. By entering this giveaway you are granting permission for NovelKnight to share your name and mailing information with the publisher to send your prize, should you be selected as the winner.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Never miss another book recommendation!

Book dragons love comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 responses to “Author Interview with Rachael Lippincott + Giveaway!

  1. Hallo, Hallo Austine,

    Thanks for highlighting this new book and movie for us!! I haven’t come across it anywhere else – the beauty of it though for me is the premise and the ENTIRE journey of the two lead characters. I normally wouldn’t say I’m the kind of reader who is attracted to these kinds of narratives, but in this instance, there is something a bit different about it – I knew I wasn’t the reader for Fault in Our Stars and then, I believe it was Everything, Everything I felt fit me better – though, by the time the film came out, I still hadn’t read the novel, so I skipped the film!

    This is the second time I found a story and a film I am keenly interested in – so THANK YOU!! Over and beyond the bookaway, I’m grateful to have found a new story to read and a new film to watch afterwards! Also, the cover art reflects the lungs so artistically – I knew this was about lungs & medical issues when I saw it even before I read the premise and played the trailer! Thanks for including that as well!

  2. I added this book to my TBR based solely on the cover! It’s stunning! I’ve seen the trailer for the movie, but I didn’t make the connection. I also only clicked on the trailer because I recently started watching Riverdale and that’s Jughead, haha. Thanks for sharing!

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear?