Author Interview with Samantha Goodwin (+ Giveaway!)

Author of Murder at Macbeth

POSTED ON May 3, 2019 BY Austine IN Giveaway, Interview

Happy Friday, book lovers! I’m ending the week here on NovelKnight with a new author interview! Samantha Goodwin was kind enough to stop by and answer some questions about herself and her upcoming novel, MURDER AT MACBETH!

Make sure to check out the interview and you’ll find more about the book below. PLUS there’s an awesome international giveaway at the end for a signed copy of MURDER AT MACBETH!

Divider

About Samantha Goodwin

Samantha Goodwin has written professionally for her business career as a Chartered Marketing Manager for over a decade before turning her hand to fiction. As an avid crime fiction fan, she regularly participates in the renowned Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate and completed their prestigious Crime Writing Creative Workshop. She also relishes attending literature festivals across the country as well as engaging in numerous online writing communities.

Keen to support upcoming authors, Samantha recently launched the #IndieWritingWisdom initiative on Instagram to collate and share inspiring, original quotes from a wide range of different writers to encourage others.

When she is not writing, Samantha enjoys reading, countryside walks, movies, musicals and almost all chocolate (but controversially not Oreos). She lives in Leeds with her husband, Chris, and son, Jack.

Murder at Macbeth is her first novel and was longlisted for the international Flash 500 Novel Award in 2017.

Divider

All About Samantha


You wrote a book! That’s pretty awesome. Why don’t you tell us a bit about what inspired Murder at Macbeth?

I was inspired by a newspaper article about a London West End actor who was accidentally stabbed live on stage. That got me thinking; what if that had been intentional? What a dramatic way to murder someone and believe you could get away with it.

I’ve always been fascinated by the superstitions surrounding Macbeth about it being cursed and the fact the play itself is about corruption and deception provided an interesting parallel to the murder mystery. Plus, I found the concept of interviewing suspects who are also actors really interesting; they could so easily be playing a part to hide the truth.


Introduce us to your main character!

There are two main characters; the murder victim is a talented, young actress called Nikki Gowon. Initially she is very much presented as a golden girl, but before long her seemingly perfect life quickly starts to unravel as more is revealed about the scandalous circumstances leading up to her death.

Then there is the astute Detective Inspector Finley Robson who leads the murder investigation. Smart and resourceful, he has an uncanny ability for getting to the bottom of the toughest cases. However, he is also struggling to overcome his own troubled past and finds the unusual theatrical case resonates deeply with him.


Walk us through a day in the life of Samantha Goodwin.

When I was writing my novel I was working full time as a Marketing Manager for a national charity supporting people with learning disabilities and I was also pregnant! So fitting time in to write was quite a challenge, but I was really committed to finish before my baby was born so it helped having a tangible deadline! Once I got started, I found it became surprisingly easy to carve out some writing time every day, such as during my lunch break or getting up 30 minutes earlier. I found having a one-page outline really useful for staying focused so I could pick up writing from where I left off while maintaining oversight of the whole story arc. I actually found the balance of doing my editing and looking after a newborn much more difficult. I did a lot of one-handed typing while holding a sleeping baby!


Lots of aspiring authors out there. Any advice for them?

Believe in yourself, and surround yourself with positive people who will spur you on. Writing groups and online communities are great for when you need advice. It’s good to make those connections early on so you don’t feel isolated and are motivated to keep going.

And don’t worry about getting it right first time.  One of my favourite writing quotes is from Shannon Hale who said, “I’m writing a first draft and reminding myself that I’m simply shovelling sand into a box so that later I can build castles.”


I know asking someone’s all-time favorite book is a loaded question so what’s your current favorite read?

I am currently loving Into the Water by Paula Hawkins (the author of The Girl On The Train). It’s such a great mystery novel, full of twists and turns so it is completely unpredictable.


Alright, the ultimate question: why should we read your book?

The crime itself is a very intriguing one; an actress unwittingly stabbing herself live onstage after a prop knife is tampered with. It’s different than other crime mysteries, as the action is conveyed through interviews with her eclectic bunch of castmates who gradually reveal what happened, with lots of twists and turns along the way.

Plus, Murder at Macbeth was longlisted for an international debut novel award and has received a lot of advanced praise from a number of other authors, including the No.1 bestselling crime author Joy Ellis who loved the book and said, “as a debut novel, this is a cracker!” and Carol Deeley, author of the Britannica series, who said it is “a classic whodunnit that entertains in true Poirot style and read like a really good episode of a prime-time crime series.”

Divider

Fun Stuff!


Describe yourself in 3 words.

Friendly. Talkative. Conscientious.


What is your Hogwarts house?

Ravenclaw


Your characters are sent into the Hunger Games. Who wins?

Hmm I think there would definitely be a few good contenders for the Hunger Games! I think Emma would win, she’s pretty ruthless.


A famous movie producer wants to make your books into movies and they want you to cast your characters. Which actors/actresses make the cut?

I would love for the book to be made into a movie! I would cast Richard Madden (Robb Stark from Game of Thrones) to play the role of D.I. Robson as I think he would bring a lot of depth to the role. Then for the murder victim, Nikki Gowon, who is also a key character in the story, I would cast Ajiona Alexus who is known for playing Sheri Holland in 13 Reasons Why.


You just won America’s Got Talent. What’s your talent?

I can juggle!


Radioactive space rock fell from the sky and turned you into a superhero/villain. Tell us your new name, describe your powers, and what does your costume look like?

Amazing question! My name is Nightingale and I can magically heal all injuries and illnesses and I can stop time – ideal for getting more sleep and not being late all the time! My costume would be black with a silver nightingale emblem on the belt.


This morning you woke up with the ability to time travel to only one time period. Where (or more accurately “when”) would you go?

I would love to visit the Jurassic period as I’m a big fan of dinosaurs! Although I do feel that probably wouldn’t be the safest choice…


Coffee or tea?

Neither! I’m one of those strange people who doesn’t like hot drinks.


Best ice cream flavor ever?

Chocolate!


Your theme song/personal anthem?

I absolutely love Seasons of Love from the muscial Rent, at my wedding I walked down the aisle to that song! For me it is so much about making the most out of life and the time that we have.


Favorite quote?

“Forget regret or life is yours to miss, no other road, no other way, no day but today.” Also from Rent.


What is one piece of advice you would tell everyone?

“Do you best, that’s all you can ever do.” My dad always told me that when I was younger and it is such wise advice.

Divider

About the Book

Author Interview with Samantha Goodwin (+ Giveaway!)
Murder at Macbeth
by Samantha Goodwin
Published on May 17, 2019 by Amazon Digital Services
Pages: 393
Genres: Mystery

WHOSE DEADLY SECRET HAS TAKEN CENTRE STAGE?

When a talented, young actress unwittingly stabs herself live onstage after a prop knife is tampered with, suspicion immediately falls on her eclectic band of castmates.

But who had the motive to kill the show's leading lady?

As the insightful, yet disillusioned, Detective Inspector Finley Robson and his shrewd partner, Detective Sergeant Nadia Zahra, interrogate the seven key suspects, secrets unfold to unveil a web of scandal, blackmail, and deceit.

Bitter rivalries, secret trysts and troubled pasts are just the beginning of the story…

Set against the backdrop of a gritty London theatre production of Macbeth, this compelling novel explores a dark world of mystery and intrigue. All is not as it seems...

A hugely gripping police procedural full of unpredictable twists and suspense, Murder at Macbeth will captivate you from the very first page and keep you guessing right until the end.

With an intriguing plot and distinctive characters, this English murder mystery is a compelling whodunnit which is perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, Karin Slaughter and LJ Ross.


Buy It!
Amazon
NovelKnight receives a small commission for any purchases made through the links above.


Divider

Giveaway!

Enter to win a signed paperback copy of MURDER AT MACBETH!

Open INTERNATIONALLY. Ends May 17, 2019.

This giveaway is sponsored by the author. NovelKnight is not responsible for the provision or shipping of the prizes.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Never miss another book recommendation!

Book dragons love comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

7 responses to “Author Interview with Samantha Goodwin (+ Giveaway!)

  1. Danielle Hammelef

    Mysteries are my favorite genre! As a theater person, this book sounds “extra” fun to read.

    • Satya M

      I personally love mystery, crime or thriller book so much 🙂 so i can’t wait to read this book ^_^

  2. Satya M

    i personally love mystery, crime or thriller book so much^_^ so i can’t wait to read this book :))